The Playlist Files

Okay, it’s been a while since I did one of these. I’ve recently just discovered Spotify Web Player so I’ve been eyeball deep in all sorts of music – new and old. But that aside, what five tracks have been blowing my mind recently?

 

1. Dr Feelgood – Motley Crüe

2. Panic Cord – Gabrielle Aplin

3. Don’t Blink – Relient K

4. Brutal Love – Green Day

5. Everybody Talks – Neon Trees

There are so many more as well, but I’ll save them for another Playlist Files.

Okay well…

1 – Most people and their uncle will know this track. The questions is though, as voiced by Bowling For Soup in their hit ‘1985’… “When did Motley Crüe become Classic Rock?” I love this track, because even though it’s heavy rock you can still dance to it. It’s just sodding awesome, and it makes me want to look like Kat Von D.

Find it: ‘Dr Feelgood’ – Motley Crüe (1989)

2 – Couldn’t be further from the first track if it tried. This is a song by an English singer-songwriter who first came to public attention by gathering quite a large YouTube following. I first heard of her through a friend at my radio station (87.7 Bailrigg FM) who really liked her. This is my favourite song by her so far and is definitely worth a listen – yes it is pop, but it’s got a little spark of something special about it too.

Find it: ‘English Rain’ – Gabrielle Aplin (2013)

3 – Kind of like Imagine Dragons but a bit more rocky. In the grey area somewhere between pop and punk. A very summery track that makes me think of cider and barbecues, with singalongs with your friends. Definitely should be on summer playlists everywhere. Helped by the fact that the lyric video (posted below) is of people riding bikes in a sun filled park…

Find it: Collapsible Lung – Relient K (2013 (out on July 2nd))

4 – Okay, well this track is on the playlist because of my experience on Saturday. This song is bringing me close to tears every time I listen to it at the moment. It’s a heartfelt ballad depicting the ups and downs of love, and to hear 60,000 people singing along, lighters aloft, I don’t think that’s a moment I’ll ever forget.

Find it: Tré! – Green Day (2012)

5 – This on there because I’m revising at the moment I need something to keep my spirits up. Neon Trees appears to be doing this with their chipper brand of more-pop-than-rock. If you want a dance, be reminded that you’re actually nearly 20 and not 16 anymore (whoops!), and also put a smile on your face then this is the track for you.

Find it: Picture Show – Neon Trees (2012)

And this week’s track:

Until next time,

B

XO

Leave a Reply

